ECHA classified the five chemicals as the substance of very high concern and suggested that the European Commission add them to the Authorisation List in 2019. The amendment of the Authorisation List (Annex XIV to REACH) was published on 11 April in the EU’s Official Journal.

The five substances are as follows:

1. Tetraethyllead (TEL) (EC 201-075-4, CAS 78-00-2)

2. 4,4'-bis(dimethylamino)-4''-(methylamino)trityl alcohol (EC 209-218-2, CAS 561-41-1)

3. Reaction products of 1,3,4-thiadiazolidine-2,5-dithione, formaldehyde and 4-heptylphenol, branched and linear (RP-HP) [with ≥ 0,1% w/w 4-heptylphenol, branched and linear (4-HPbl)]

4. 2-ethylhexyl 10-ethyl-4,4-dioctyl-7-oxo-8-oxa-3,5-dithia-4-stannatetradecanoate (DOTE) (EC 239-622-4, CAS 15571-58-1) (EC -, CAS -)

5. Reaction mass of 2-ethylhexyl 10-ethyl-4,4-dioctyl-7-oxo-8-oxa-3,5-dithia-4-stannatetradecanoate and 2-ethylhexyl 10-ethyl-4-[[2-[(2-ethylhexyl)oxy]-2-oxoethyl]thio]-4-octyl-7-oxo-8-oxa-3,5-dithia-4-stannatetradecanoate (reaction mass of DOTE and MOTE)

Applications: These chemicals are employed in a variety of applications, including gasoline additives, ink formulation, lubricants, and polymer stabilization.


Reach out to our regulation experts on product regulatory compliances